One Small Step for a Man, One Giant Leap for Mankind…

Today, on 26th August 2012, we all woke up to find out that Neil Armstrong, first man on the moon, passed away at age 82. I was surprised to see on Facebook, how many of my friends considered him to be a role model or a childhood hero. People are commenting on news websites about how sad they feel. I have to admit I do not share in this overwhelming sense of loss, perhaps because I was born in the eighties, and did not experience that world-changing event first-hand. Those who have, all remember how significant it was, and where they were when Neil proclaimed the famous words, “one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

But what really came to my mind, for some reason, was this song by Enigma, from the Album A Posteriori, for which I found a remix of, and liked as much as the original:

And for some reason, while listening to it, I suddenly realized how big an achievement it was for a human being to walk on the moon, hundreds of thousands of years since Homo Sapiens first appeared on the Earth…

Leave a Reply

