The Journey of a Christian Scientist

Christian faith has a profound insight in describing life as a pilgrimage, with us as pilgrims, each with a life to spend, and to spend it just once. I can see the connections between the different jobs and the way in which they have fitted together, so I will work on for as long as I can, in the meantime thanking God for all the opportunities I have had. ~ Derek Burke, Real Scientists, Real Faith

As a scientist, I have always recognized that I am a moral agent, and that I cannot and should not act as a mere technician. It has been my responsibility to determine as far as I can that my work fits into priority areas that will benefit humans and human society. I have seen this as an outworking of what I am as a Christian. ~ Gareth Jones, Real Scientists, Real Faith

I profess to be a Christian; those working with me know me as a Christian; I write a great deal as a Christian in controversial areas. The problem is that I constantly ask difficult questions. I refuse to accept superficial answers, and I refuse to be labelled in any of the neat ways beloved of many Christians. I spend my time in intellectual territory where Christians are often uneasy. Why, then, don’t I stick to straightforward non-contentious topics, where most Christians would feel more at home?

The answer is simple. I believe I have been called into these realms of uncertainty and cultural disquiet. This is where I am to integrate my faith and learning. I do not want to keep my science and faith in separate watertight compartments. I am unwilling to live with a vast chasm between the two. I am determined to relate my faith to the science in which I am engaged, and not to some other branch of science that is not my own professional area. I think this would be unhelpful, in that my scientific expertise would not be informing the faith/learning dialogue. This would also allow me to function in my own scientific area in unexamined ways. ~ Gareth Jones, Real Scientists, Real Faith

Integration of our faith with any aspect of human existence and experience has its dangers. On the other hand, lack of integration leaves our Christianity isolated from ordinary life; its purity may go unchallenged, but its ability to inform and transform daily experience is limited. ~ Gareth Jones, Real Scientists, Real Faith

2 thoughts on “The Journey of a Christian Scientist

  1. This is a most interesting site. As a “Christian Scientist”, follower of Mary Baker Eddy, who founded the religion called Christian Science, I expected to read about the teachings of Christian Science. This was a unique surprise. Christian and Science are interrelated in my opinion. Living the life of a Christian, and proving that the fundamentals of Christianity were based on a law of God, as taught by Christ Jesus, that could actually heal people of all types of diseases has been a great boon to mankind.
    Eddy comments in her book Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures on a number of aspects of the physical sciences showing how they point to a higher metaphysics. She was well aware of and acquainted with scientific discoveries, experiments, and theories, but endeavored to look beyond just the physical for what she called the spiritual facts of existence and things.
    I really enjoyed the comments on this site and hope that mine add a little to the dialogue about Christian and Science.

  2. Hi Kathy,
    thanks for dropping by and commenting. You are always welcome. 🙂 When I gave these posts their titles, I was referring to scientists who belong to the Christian faith, or Christians who are scientists by vocation. But looks like I might have missed its alternate meaning!

Leave a Reply

